Wednesday , September 28 2022

Toni Collette, Ethan Hawke & More – Movie


Gotham Awards 2018

28th year Gotham Awards took place last night, offering our spring view at a grand prize contest, as we head to the next Oscar Awards ceremony. The Gotham Awards focus on independent films, but many previous winners have gone to take home Oscar Gold (Get out and Call me after your name were big winners last year).

This year, Western drama by Chloe Zhao Horseman has won the "Best Element" award in a highly competitive category Toni Collette and Ethan Hawke has won in the main actor categories for their amazing work Hereditary and The First Reformed, respectively. Eighth grade has also won big trophies to win the actress Elsie Fisher and director Bo Burnham. Read the full list of winners below.

The Gotham Awards are the first major stop on the long, flowing Academy Awards, and over the past few years have become a good indicator for the movies to get Oscars. Gotham winners like Moonlight, Spotlight, and Birdman everyone has gone to take the best picture.

Here's the complete list of winners (through Variety):

Gotham Awards 2018 Winners

The best feature
"Favorite" (Fox Searchlight Images)
"First Reformed" (A24)
"If Beale Street Can Speak" (Annapurna Pictures)
Madeline & Madeline (Oscilloscope Laboratories)
"The Rider" (Sony Pictures Classics) – WINNER

The best actor
Adam Driver in "BlacKkKlansman" (Focus Features)
Ben Foster in "Leave No Trace" (Bleecker Street)
Richard E. Grant in "Can You Ever Forgive Me?" (Fox Searchlight Images)
Ethan Hawke in the "First Reformed" (A24) – WINNER
Lakeith Stanfield in "Sorry to Bother You" (Annapurna Pictures)

The best actress
Glenn Close in "The Wife" (Sony Pictures Classics)
Toni Collette in "Hereditary" (A24) – WINNER
Kathryn Hahn in "Private Life" (Netflix)
Queen Hall in "Support the Girls" (Magnolia Pictures)
Michelle Pfeiffer in "Where is Kyra?" (Paladin and Media High Point)

Actor actor
Yalitza Aparicio in "Rome" (Netflix)
Elsie Fisher in the eighth grade (A24) – WINNER
Helena Howard in "Madeline's Madeline" (Oscilloscope Laboratories)
KiKi Layne in "If Beale Street Can Speak" (Annapurna Pictures)
Thomasin Harcourt McKenzie in the movie "Leave No Trace" (Bleecker Street)

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director's Award
Ari Aster for "hereditary" (A24)
Bo Burnham for the eighth grade (A24) – WINNER
Jennifer Fox for "The Tale" (HBO)
Crystal Moselle for "Skate Kitchen" (Magnolia Pictures)
Boots Riley for "I'm Sorry to Bother You" (Annapurna Images)

Breakthrough Series – Long form
"Alias ​​Grace" (Netflix)
"End of the World F ***," (Netflix)
"Killing Eve" (BBC America) – WINNER
"Pose" (FX Networks)
"Sharp Objects" (HBO)

Breakthrough Series – Short form
"195 Lewis" – WINNER
"Cleaner Daze"
"Word F"
"She is the ticket"

The best scenario
"Favorite", Deborah Davis and Tony McNamara (Fox Searchlight Pictures)
"The First Reformed," Paul Schrader (A24) – WINNER
"Private Life," Tamara Jenkins (Netflix)
"Support the Girls," Andrew Bujalski (Magnolia Pictures)
"Thoroughbreds", Cory Finley (Focus Features)

The best documentary
"Bisbee's 17" (4-line movies)
"County Hale this morning, this evening" (Cinema Guild) – WINNER
"Measuring the gap" (Hulu & Magnolia Pictures)
"Shirkers" (Netflix)
"Are not you my neighbor?" (Focus Features)

Jury Award for Ensemble Performance
Rachel Weisz, Olivia Colman and Emma Stone in "The Favorite" – WINNER

Audience Award
"Will not you be my neighbor?" – WINNER

Will this new win win, even more acceptance speeches, as the prize season continues? I would not be surprised to see You will not be my neighbor continue to roll, but while Horseman could be nominated for the Best Oscar, to Face: It's a long shot to win there.

Personally, I am delighted to see that Toni Collette and Ethan Hawke are recognized for what are two of today's top performances this year and I would love to see one or both of them staying on stage at the Dolby Theater in February. Winning a Gotham prize could be an impulse builder that has to do throughout the prize season up to the biggest stage of the year.

Refreshments on the Web:

Source link