Saturday , June 10 2023

Calgary Stampeders's Bo Levi Mitchell qualifiers win second prize for outstanding CFL players


Bo Levi Mitchell has the second prize for outstanding CFL players.

Qualifier Calgary Stampeders captured the honor of Thursday night at the CFL prize.

Voting was conducted by Canadian Reporters, as well as nine CFL coaches. A total of 60 voters participated.

It is the second honor for Mitchell, who also won him in 2016.

Mitchell, 28, had a high-speed touchdown and the best 35-meter career this season, leading Calgary to the best league season record (13-5).

The native of Katy, Texas, threw 5,124 meters, recorded 42 completions of 30 meters more and had a TD-intercept ratio of 2.5, the last two being the charts in CFL.

Mitchell received 47 votes to become the ninth MOP multiple winner in CFL history. He is the second youngest to perform, while Jackie Parker won the second in 1958 at the age of 26.

Mitchell will lead Calgary in the Gray Cup on Sunday against Ottawa Redblacks. It is the third edition of the championship, but they have lost both earlier times.

READ MORE: Stampers and Redblacks arrive in Edmonton before CFL's Cup final

Watch below: Some global videos about Bo Levi Mitchelit.

Hamilton Tiger-Cats defender Jeremiah Masoli, CFL's second passerby, 5,209 meters, was the East finalist.

Winner Blue Bombers Linebacker Adam Bighill was named the best defensive player. Bighill five-foot-10, 230 pounds received 57 votes for the second time after winning the prize in 2015 with B.C. Lions.

Bighill, from Montesano, Wash., Had 105 attacks, four bags two interceptions and a high four CFL forced into his first Winnipeg season.

Bighill anchored a defense that ended the first time in the league with 49 takeaways, the second in permissible points (23.3 per game) and tied for the second-several permits allowed per game (6.0). Bombers ended the season with a turnover figure of plus-13.

Bighill becomes the fifth Bomber to win the prize and first of Jovan Johnson in 2011. He is also the ninth player who has demanded more honors.

READ MORE: Adam Bighill pushes for the most remarkable award of Blue Bombers

watch below: Some global videos about Adam Bighill.

Hamilton linebacker Larry Dean, who also recorded 105 battles, was the finalist. Tiger cats allowed the smallest offensive sites (334.3 per game) and urban yards (110.6) in the Eastern Division.

Ottawa players captured three awards, two of them for the Lewis Wards kickballs (beginner, special teams). Slotback Brad Sinopoli was named the Canadian Top.

Ward scored 51 goals in the field (record 98.1 percent), including a professional record of 48 cards to be transferred in 2019. The native of Kingston, Ont., Won 50 first place voices in tournaments debut and 43 for the honor of special teams.

Saskatchewan Roughriders receiver Jordan Williams-Lambert was the debut finalist while B.C. Lions kicker Ty Long was a special runner-up team.

Sinopoli, from Peterborough, Ont., Won the second top Canadian prize, earning for the first time in 2015. Redblack's star had 116 seasons – a single-season record for a Canadian – for 1,376 who received courtyards with four TDs to help Ottawa finish East with a record 11-7.

Sinopoli, which received 32 votes, broke the 1,000-meter plateau in the last four seasons. He had a CFL-best 486 yards after capturing this year.

Winnipeg running back Andrew Harris, last year's winner and CFL's best player for a second season, was the finalist.

Bombers tackling Stanley Bryant captured the top Lememan prize for the second consecutive year. He scored 44 votes to become the first winner at Scott Flory in Montreal (2008-09).

The 311-pound bryant, weighing six meters, led another solid season for Winnipeg's offensive line. Not only did Harris run for a high league 1,390 meters, but Bombers scored a CFL-best 53 offensive touchdowns and allowed 36 bags, tied for the third-smallest in the league.

Hamilton's guard Brandon Revenberg was the finalist.

Chris Jones from Saskatchewan Roughriders was named CFL coach of the year. He received 41 votes.

In the third season with the Riders, Jones led the franchise to a 12-6 record and second in the West Division. This meant most franchise wins in the 1970s and also won Saskatchewan's first playoff game in 2013.

Jones becomes the fifth coach from Saskatchewan to win honor from Corey Chamblin in 2013.

READ MORE: Riders Chris Jones and Jordan Willams-Lambert have been nominated for awards in the league

Watch below: Some global videos about Chris Jones.

Rick Campbell of Ottawa, the winner of 2015, was the finalist.

Pierre Vercheval, CFL's former top player and Canadian inducer of the Football Hall of Fame, now a football player, received the Commissioner's award for a remarkable contribution to Canadian football. Wally Buono, who retired as B.C. Lions head coach, at the end of the season, was awarded the Hugh Campbell Distinguished Leadership Award.

Buono, 68, finished a 46-year career as a player, coach, GM, and league governor. The Canadian Football Hall of Famer and a member of the Canadian Order captured a record 282 regular races and won seven Gray Cups, five of which as a coach.

Source link