Wednesday , August 17 2022

Briege Corkery returns to Captain Munster, while four provinces discover strong teams


Cork's 11-time All-Ireland Ladies Senior, Briege Corkery football medalist is set for a dramatic return to play on the next weekend.

TG4 All Star 10 times was named Munster captain for the Interprovincial annual tournament to be held on Saturday at the WIT Sports Campus.

Briege Corkery of Cork looked with the other substitutes before the final match between Cork and Kilkenny at Dublin's Croke Park before the Liberty All-Ireland Senior Camogie Championship event. Photo by Piaras Ó Mídheach / Sportsfile.

Corkery (31) won the 11th edition of the 11th edition of the entire Irish football championship in 2016 but did not pull off the red shirt.

She has returned, however, to play an important role in Cork's successful march to Camogie title in 2018, but Interprovincials will mark the Return to Football at the elite level.

Corkery played the last time to play Interprovincial Football in 2013 and played in the 2011 tournament.

The four provinces have unveiled their crews for a tournament to be held at 11:00, the Interprovincial and Shield finals penalized for 15:30.

Ulster are current holders and aim for the seventh interprofessional crown successive.

They are captained by Neamh Woods, who accompanied Tyrone in the full glory of the TG4 All-Ireland Intermediary in September.

Leinster will be captained by Lyndsey Davey, who is one of three Senior 2018 TG4 nominees for the Player of the Year award.

Connacht will be led by Tracey Leonard, who is also the current Galway captain.

Munster, in 2011, was the last province, other than Ulster, to win the Interprovincial title.

– Digital office

Source link