Wednesday , March 29 2023

Limerick ended the glorious year with the Fenway Classic victory in Boston


Limerick 38, Cork 30

Champions from all over Ireland, Limerick, ended a glorious year by capturing Aer Lingus Fenway Hurling Classic in Boston.

Limerick never qualified in the final as he built a blistering start, adding the Players Champions Cup to their trophy cabinet.

Limerick led 24-13 at half time after leading a 21-0 lead in just eight minutes when John Kiely's men beat the Munster champions.

Barry Murphy hit two points five points on short corners and after Tom Morrissey scored two more goals, he managed to get along with an excellent effort from Hurler of the Year Cian Lynch.

Cork finally climbed, and Patrick Horgan pulled home five points and then added another three-point effort.

Cut the gap

But Kyle Hayes extended Limerick's lead before Cork cut the gap before the break, when Shane Kingston found the net in a short corner to leave him for 11 years at intervals.

It would be a long time ago if Anthony Nash had not produced an amazing rescue line that would have a crowd of 12,674 on their feet.

Tom Morrissey and Bill Cooper changed three points after reboot, and Patrick Horgan narrowed the gap to 27-19, but Limerick goalkeeper Nickie Quaid was also top.

Another distant effort from Lynch extended Limerick with an effort from Andrew La Touche Cosgrave, making 35-19 in the last quarter.

Conor Lehane and Cooper cut the margin before Barry Murphy hit back for Limerick to conclude victory.

LIMERICK: N Quaid, S Hickey, R English, S Finn, D Byrnes, D Hannon, D Morrissey, C Lynch (10), With Flanagan, G Mulcahy, T Morrissey (9), Ryan Ryan, B Nash, G Hegarty, K Hayes (3), B Hennessy, A La Touche Cosgrave (3), About O'Reilly, A Gillane, B Murphy (13), P Oo Loughlin, L Lyons, W O'Meara, D Reidy, C Ryan.

CORK: A Nash, S O'Donoghue, D Cahalane, C Spillane, C Joyce, E Cadogan, M Coleman, B Cooper (6), D Kearney, C Lehane (3), With Kingston (5), L Meade, T Oo Mahony, P Horgan (16), J O'Connor, E Murphy, R O'Flynn, W Kearney, D Griffin, D Browne, J Coughlan, M Collins, C Twomey, S Murphy.

Referee: Sean Cleere (Kilkenny)

Source link