Tuesday , March 21 2023

Mexican writer Fernando del Paso dies at age 83


The writer Fernando del Paso Morante He was one of the best Mexican writers of the twentieth century for his three great works: José Trigo (1966) Palinuro from Mexico (1977) and News of the Empire (1987).

Del Paso was born in Mexico City on April 1, 1935. Since the early years he has shown a tendency towards drawing and literature, which he has developed in his adult life.

As the protagonist of the novel Palinuro of Mexico, Fernando studied medicine. "He is the character I was and I wanted to be, and the one that others thought I was, and also the one I could never be, even if I wanted to be," said the author of his character .

Unlike the protagonist of his story, the author abandoned the race because he could not bear to see blood or viscera. He decided to change his studies, studying two years of Economics and a seminar literature into the UNAM.

In 1955 he began to work as a writer for several advertising agencies, and also worked as a journalist and broadcaster.

His first published book was Daily snacks, in 1958, but no sooner than eight years after he published his first novel, José Trigo, which was applauded by Juan Rulfo and Juan José Arreola, She did it worthy Xavier Villaurrutia Award, and had an adverse criticism due to its complexity, influenced by its narrative James Joyce, the author Ulises and Finnegan's Wake.

In 1987 he published the most successful work among the public and critics: News of the Empire, which is in the regime Maximilian de Habsburg and Carlota. In this novel, Fernando del Paso insists on providing all possible versions of the most important moments in the lives of protagonists and French intervention in Mexico.

Del Paso also devoted himself to writing poetry, which appeared in books like Daily snacks (1958) Ten color palettes (1990) Castles in the air (2002) and POEMAR (2004). He also approached the dramaturgy Miramar woman lady (1988) and Death goes to Granada (1998).

Among the awards he received were Xavier Villaurrutia (1966), Rómulo Gallegos (1982), National Science and Arts of Mexico (1991), Literature FIL (2007) Cervantes (2015).


Source link